About Us

Quick links:

An introduction to Treaty 8

On June 21, 1899, the eighth treaty between the Indians of North America and the Queen of England was signed. The signatories of Treaty 8 agreed to its terms for reasons of peace and friendship – ensuring what they thought would be a partnership. Treaty 8 was the most comprehensive treaty, encompassing a land mass of approximately 840,000 kilometers, and is home to 41 First Nation communities. Treaty No 8 territory encompasses areas of Northern Alberta, Northwestern Saskatchewan, Northeastern British Columbia, and the Southwest portion of the Northwest Territories.

History of TREATY No. 8 Organizations

  • Initially began as the Grand Council of Treaty 8, involved almost all the Nations but eventually resulted in the formation of Treaty 8 First Nations in Alberta, a non-profit organization. 
  • This was due to government policies that were created to divide the Nations by interprovincial statutory funding regulations, thus limiting our Nations from meeting. 
  • As a result, the Chiefs at that time established their political organizations to continue advancing their mutual interests to protect, promote, bring to life implement and sustain the True Spirit and Intent of Treaty No. 8 as long as the sun shines, the grass grows and the Waters Flow and until such a time as Yidah should reverse”.
  • Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta is the political assembly where our Nations meet to establish legal, political, fiscal, and economic relationships between themselves, and to identity and develop comprehensive plans and mutually acceptable standards whereby the recognition of our Inherent and Treaty Rights and jurisdictions are advanced nationally and internationally. The vision is about our land, our people, our ways and that the True Spirit and Intent of Treaty No. 8 are respected and honored.

First Nations Of Treaty 8

Treaty 8 is made up of over 41 autonomous nations with individual goals and needs.

Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation
Beaver First Nation
Bigstone Cree Nation
Black Lake First Nation
Blueberry River First Nations
Chipewyan Prairie First Nation
Clearwater River Dene First Nation
Dene Tha’ First Nation
Deninu K’ue First Nation
Doig River First Nation
Driftpile Cree Nation
Duncan’s First Nation
Fond du Lac First Nation
Fort McKay First Nation
Fort McMurray First Nation
Fort Nelson First Nation
Halfway River First Nation
Horse Lake First Nation
Kapawe’no First Nation
Little Red River Cree Nation
Loon River First Nation
Lubicon Lake Indian Band
McLeod Lake Indian Band
Mikisew Cree First Nation
Peerless Trout First Nation
Prophet River First Nation
Saulteau First Nations
Sawridge First Nation
Smith’s Landing First Nation
Sturgeon Lake Cree Nation
Sucker Creek First Nation
Swan River First Nation
Tallcree Tribal Government
West Moberly First Nations
Whitefish Lake First Nation
Woodland Cree First Nation


To Protect, Promote, Bring To Life, Implement, and Sustain The True Spirit and Intent of Treaty No.8 as Long as The Sun Shines, The Grass Grows, and The Waters Flow and Until such time as Yidah should reverse


Our Land, Our People, Our Ways, and The True Spirit and Intent of Treaty No. 8 are Respected and Honored